Do you ever have those times where you just don’t feel like doing something?  Of course you do; we all feel that way from time to time, and we feel that way about different matters.  That feeling of “I just don’t want to do it” hits us at all ages in different circumstances whether it is school, work, church, exercising, running errands, chores around the house, etc.

And yet, what I have discovered is that when I will get past that initial reluctance of “I don’t feel like it and instead “just do it”, the vast majority of the time I am glad I did it.  I have been doing some pretty intensive exercise programs for a few years, and there are certainly those days when I just don’t feel like exercising.  My body is sore, I didn’t sleep well the night before, I have a lot going on that day, I am not able to work out at my normal time, and any other number of excuses start to rise up in my mind.  And yet, whenever I “just do it,” I feel better than on those days in which I give in to that temptation to not exercise. I tend to eat better, I have more energy, and I can see the positive results from the consistent exercise.

As a pastor, there are times in which although I love what I do and can’t imagine doing anything else, I just don’t feel like getting up and going to work that day.  But, of course, I go, and those are usually the days in which that person walks in the door who just needs to talk, who has a particular need over which they want me to pray, or I read something that deepens my faith.  There have even been Sundays, I confess, where I just wanted to sleep in and take it easy, and if I was not the pastor I probably would not have gone to church that day, so I understand that impulse to just stay home because you “don’t feel like it.”

And yet, as with other things in life, we are better off when we resist that temptation and instead “just do it.”  One of my favorite stories is of the founder of Methodism, John Wesley, who wrote in his journal that he went to a worship service one night, and in his words “went very unwillingly.” Yet it was at that service that he said “I felt my heart strangely warmed. I felt I did trust in Christ, Christ alone for salvation, and an assurance was given me that he had taken away my sins, even mine, and saved me from the law of sin and death.”  This experience was transformative for Wesley in his faith, and yet he almost didn’t go!  What experiences do we miss out on that God has in store for us simply because we “don’t feel like it?”

What opportunities for growing in faith, growing in love, developing a friendship, being there for someone in need, etc., will you miss out on today because you just “don’t feel like it?” What potential life-changing experiences will you open yourself up to because you overcome the temptation of not feeling like it and instead “just do it?”